Church and Recovery

3 Apr

I have talked with people who are on all sides of this topic.  Some believe in God not church, no God and God is the only answer.  I have found that gaining a relationship with God was key in my recovery.  I had not been at my church very long before the incident at work.  Once everything happened I was engulfed by nothing but love support and kindness.  I don’t know how I would have made it this past year without God and the church family he has provided me.  I am open about my past with many members of the church.  There are some that I have not shared my story with but, I would if needed.  I think that having been through this and surviving it is my duty to give hope to anyone who can find it from me.  I’m no one wonderful.  I just tell my story and if it helps great if not well sorry!  I tried!  It would be interesting to hear how God and church has helped others in their life so if you have time Id love to hear from anyone who cares to leave a comment!

2 Responses to “Church and Recovery”

  1. timzauto April 5, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I am two months sober and have felt a higher power in my life …God or not it’s there and is helping me ….timzauto.wordpress.com

    • lifeinrecovery April 5, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Congratulations on two months! Its hard to explain how your higher power or God, whatever helps you but I agree its definately there and helps!!! Keep me updated on how you are doing if you can!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

